Department of Mechanical Engineering


Staff Student Consultative Committee (SSCC)


The SSCC is one route through which you can raise any issues or queries you may have regarding your courses and your environment within the Department. You can also approach your lecturers, your course advisers, department administrative and IT staff, and the Head of Department.

The SSCC includes two elected representatives from each year group of Mechanical and Mechatronics, Masters and PhD students, and relevant departmental staff. They meet at least four times a year.

The SSCC is also responsible for organising events such as staff/student BBQs and sports tournaments.

 

Useful links for postgraduates

 

Student reps


Part II

Mechanical

Erik Simon Vuorite
esim589@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Mechatronics

Seo In Park
spar930@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Part III

Mechanical

Byron Konia
bkon@281@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Mechatronics

Mohammad Biglari-Abhari
mbig792@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Part IV

Mechanical

Thomas Andrews (Tom)
tand918@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Mechatronics

Jaren Lean
jlea931@auckland.ac.nz

Postgraduate

Head of Mechanical Engineering Postgraduate Society

Alex Payne
apay876@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Newmarket Campus

Gopal Krishnan
gkri408@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Chandra Kasinadhuni
c.kasinadhuni@auckland.ac.nz

City Campus Lukas Weidemann
lwie327@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Staff reps


Head of Department

Krishnan Jayaraman
k.jayaraman@auckland.ac.nz

Deputy HoD (Academic)

Peter Richards
pj.richards@auckland.ac.nz

Programme leaders

Mechanical: Karl Stol
k.stol@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mechatronics: Brian Mace
b.mace@auckland.ac.nz

 

MEng Management: Garry Miller
g.miller@auckland.ac.nz

 

MEng Studies (Medical Devices): Andrew McDaid
andrew.mcdaid@auckland.ac.nz

 

Postgraduate Advisers

Research: Kean Aw
k.aw@auckland.ac.nz

 

Taught: Stuart Norris
s.norris@auckland.ac.nz

Technical Manager  

Jos Geurts
j.geurts@auckland.ac.nz

Group Services Coordinator          

Anna Gorbunova
a.gorbunova@auckland.ac.nz

Group Services Administrator 

Jessie Mathew
j.mathew@auckland.ac.nz

Engineering Information Services Manager

Jason MacDonald
jason.macdonald@auckland.ac.nz

SSCC Chair     

Rajnish Sharma
r.sharma@auckland.ac.nz