Department of Mechanical Engineering

Staff Student Consultative Committee (SSCC)

The SSCC is one route through which you can raise any issues or queries you may have regarding your courses and your environment within the Department. You can also approach your lecturers, your course advisers, department administrative and IT staff, and the Head of Department.

The SSCC includes two elected representatives from each year group of Mechanical and Mechatronics, Masters and PhD students, and relevant departmental staff. They meet at least four times a year.

The SSCC is also responsible for organising events such as staff/student BBQs and sports tournaments.


Useful links for postgraduates


Student reps

Part II


Erik Simon Vuorite


Seo In Park
Part III


Byron Konia


Mohammad Biglari-Abhari
Part IV


Thomas Andrews (Tom)


Jaren Lean


Head of Mechanical Engineering Postgraduate Society

Alex Payne

Newmarket Campus

Gopal Krishnan

Chandra Kasinadhuni

City Campus Lukas Weidemann

Staff reps

Head of Department

Krishnan Jayaraman

Deputy HoD (Academic)

Peter Richards

Programme leaders

Mechanical: Karl Stol


Mechatronics: Brian Mace


MEng Management: Garry Miller


MEng Studies (Medical Devices): Andrew McDaid


Postgraduate Advisers

Research: Kean Aw


Taught: Stuart Norris

Technical Manager  

Jos Geurts

Group Services Coordinator          

Anna Gorbunova

Group Services Administrator 

Jessie Mathew

Engineering Information Services Manager

Jason MacDonald

SSCC Chair     

Rajnish Sharma